Digital Media – Summer 2012 – What’s it All About?

Welcome to the Art Institute of Ft. Lauderdale’s “Digital Media” forum.

We are students at the Art Institute of Ft. Lauderdale taking a course called Digital Media Campaigns.  In this course, we will learn to design and implement advanced marketing campaigns utilizing emerging digital media concepts, paradigms, and models.

For our final project, we’re going to develop a full blown digital media marketing plan for a client, company or product integrates e-commerce and interactive media including, mobile marketing, social media marketing (SMM), viral advertising, video advertising and user generated content (UGC).

Each of us will be expressing ourselves through or reply’s and comments on this blog in order to explore the brave new world called web 2.o. Our goal is to understand how search engine marketing, SEO, paid online advertising, pay-per-click, social media networks, e-marketing are being used to build brands, engage consumers and ultimately, create sustainable revenue growth.

We want to learn how we use social media effectively because that’s where the world of advertising is moving. Right now,  Facebook, Foursquare, Twitter,  Pinterest, gaming, blogging, google+ are  just terms. Hopefully, in 11 weeks, we’ll know what they really mean, how to use them, and, what you think too.

Our first step is to introduce ourselves. We’ll follow our instructor. Speaking of following, please follow us!

10 responses to “Digital Media – Summer 2012 – What’s it All About?

  1. Hello. I’m Lisa Rosenzweig. I’ve been teaching advertising, marketing, social media courses since 2004. I’ve taught at FAU, Keiser and now Art Institute. My professional background is marketing and brand management. Welcome to the Art Institute of

    • Hello, I am Aaron Ansarov. I’m really happy to have this class and to see how to add more success to my knowledge base. My background is pretty diverse and eclectic, I look very forward to learning how to turn my blogs into more viral discussions and how to market them better. I want to know how to take all of these aspects of marketing and unify them into one successful campaign.

  2. Hello. I’m Mery Lewis and I work as a Graphic/Web Designer since 2008. My passion for design, started at a young age, when I realized the importance of a good presentation. Currently, I own a media company called Idee studio, that specializes in web, graphic, photography and video.

  3. Hi everyone, I’m Zachary Bunn, I really hope this is where she post goes. I’m studying advertising and put an emphasis on my graphic design and copy-writing. In my free time I do digital paintings and graphic design for fun. The main influences on my work are comic books and retro art deco, similar to the 1939 New York World’s Fair “World of Tomorrow” exhbit as well as films like Metropolis. I’m also influence by dystopian futures, noir, and cyberpunk featured in works such as Blade Runner, Akira, and the X-Men “Days of Future Passed” story arc.

    I addition to my studies and design work I do freelance graphic design and advertising, I’ve been doing it for roughly a year and have 9 clients. My hobbies are clothes, thrift store shopping, and collecting vinyl albums.

    – Zachary Bunn

  4. Hello everyone. I am Hidekel Peralta. I am currently working towards my Bachelor’s in Graphic Design. I knew from a pretty decent age that I was interested in image manipulation and design. I never knew to what extent graphic design actually went to until I began my education at The Art Institute of Fort Lauderdale. I’ve learned so much and continue to learn everyday. I’ve worked with clients on a freelance basis and also have experience with clientele through AiFl’s Artemis program. I love graphic design, photography, image restoration, and film, though I am not educated formally on film production.

  5. Hello! My name is Diana Buitrago and I’m a graphic designer. I will be graduating from the Art Institute of Fort Lauderdale in a couple more months and currently work as a graphic designer for a synagogue – I design everything from their event invites, quarterly bulletin, to the weekly community newsletter. It’s a very fun job and it has definitely confirmed for me that I have chosen the right career path. I have also done some freelance work – package design, web design, logo design, etc.

    After graduating, I would like to pursue another degree in web, as it goes hand-in-hand with graphic design, is in high demand, and is also something I enjoy almost as much as designing graphics. Web design has caught my attention since Yahoo allowed users to make their own free sites with “Geocities” back in the days of dial-up modems…

    I’m very excited for what’s to come in this class and look forward to the next ten weeks.

  6. Aloha everyone! I am Gina Avila, currently pursuing my Bachelor in Advertising and finally graduating on Winter 2012. My passion are design, photography and dance! I work as a Marketing Coordinator at PDT International. Interior design company that specializes in retail worldwide. Looking forward to learning more about social media and online advertising!!

  7. Hi everyone ! My name is Emily Freedman and I am a fashion merchandising major. I am graduating this quarter with my bachelors degree and I am so excited ! I recently did two internships in New York City that both had to do with my major: One at Escada where I worked on the visual displays and the second at Harpers Bazaar the fashion magazine where I was able to be the assistant of the photo shoot sets which were both amazing opportunities. By taking this class I look forward to learning more about branding through social media and becoming more tech savvy.

  8. Hello class! My name is Mike Ricciardi and I am 2 short quarters away from my BA in Advertising. I started my internship this quarter at a digital media design firm working as an Account Executive. I excited to work with all of you on our very own digital campaign.

  9. HIYA!!!(no one put that yet and it’s in all caps){I WIN!!!} I am Raynaldy, and ‘RayDar blog’ is my blog on here in case you were wondering. I attend AIFL for advertising. I’m interested in the psychology that goes into advertising. I am a lover of life and all things my imagination. In love and deep desire with fashion, music, photography, movies, entertainment. Is it possible to be in love with love?!{sounds like an addiction} at least I admitted it; that is the first step after all. Show me what you know -RayDar

Leave a Reply

